NEWPORT CITY COUNCIL – Internal Appointments: July 2017 Update

Cabinet:

Post	Appointed
Leader & Chair of Cabinet	Cllr Debbie Wilcox
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Assets and Member Development	Cllr Mark Whitcutt
Cabinet Member for Education and Skills	Cllr Gail Giles
Cabinet Member for Social Services	Cllr Paul Cockeram
CM for Streetscene	Cllr Roger Jeavons
Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Housing	Cllr Jane Mudd
Cabinet Member for Licensing and Regulation	Cllr Ray Truman
Cabinet Member for Community and Resources	Cllr David Mayer
Cabinet Member for Culture and Leisure, and Business Manager	Cllr Deb Harvey

Opposition Spokespersons:

Post	Appointed
Leader of the Opposition	Cllr Matthew Evans
Deputy Leader	Cllr Margaret Cornelious
Education and Skills	Cllr Joan Watkins
Community Services	Cllr Val Dudley
Regeneration and Housing	Cllr Martyn Kellaway
Licensing and Regulation, and Business Manager	Cllr William Routley
Streetscene	Cllr Richard White
Social Services	Cllr David Williams
Culture and Leisure	Cllr Charles Ferris
Resources	Cllr Ray Mogford

<u>Planning Committee:</u> (6 Labour, 3 Conservative, 1 NIP, 1 Lib Dem)

Labour (Chair)	Cllr John Richards	Lliswerry
Labour (Deputy Chair)	John Guy	Alway
Labour	Cllr Malcolm Linton	Ringland
Labour	Cllr James Clarke	Malpas
Labour	Cllr Yvonne Forsey	Rogerstone
Labour	Cllr Miqdad Al-Nuaimi	Stow Hill
Conservative	Cllr Richard White	Marshfield
Conservative	Cllr Charles Ferris	Allt-yr-yn
Conservative	Cllr Ray Mogford	Langstone
Newport Independents	Cllr Jason Jordan	Bettws
Liberal Democrat	Cllr Carmel Townsend	St Julians

<u>Licensing Committee:</u> (6 Labour, 3 Conservative, 1 NIP,1 Lib Dem)

Labour (Chair)	Cllr Deb Davies
Labour (Deputy Chair)	Cllr Herbie Thomas
Labour	Cllr Chris Jenkins
Labour	Cllr Tracey Holyoake
Labour	Cllr Majid Rahman
Labour	Cllr Graham Berry
Conservative	Cllr Margaret Cornelious
Conservative	Cllr Val Dudley
Conservative	Cllr Joan Watkins
Newport Independents	Cllr Jan Cleverly
Liberal Democrat	Vacancy

Audit Committee:

(5 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 NIP, 1 Lib Dem) LAY MEMBER CHAIR

Labour	Cllr Herbie Thomas
Labour	Cllr Deb Davies
Labour	Cllr Laura Lacey
Labour	Cllr John Guy
Labour	Cllr Kate Thomas
Conservative	Cllr Richard White
Conservative	Cllr William Routley
Newport Independents	Cllr Jason Jordan
Liberal Democrat	Clir Holly Townsend
Lay Member (Chair)	Mr John Baker

^{*} Chair appointed by the Committee

<u>Democratic Services Committee:</u> (6 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 NIP, 1 Lib Dem)

Conservative (Chair)	Cllr Charles Ferris
Labour	Cllr Jane Mudd
Labour	Cllr Trevor Watkins
Labour	Cllr Kate Thomas (TBC)
Labour	Cllr Yvonne Forsey
Labour	Cllr Ibrahim Hayat
Labour	Cllr Rehmann Hayat
Conservative	Cllr Matthew Evans
Newport Independents	Cllr Chris Evans
Liberal Democrat	Vacancy

Scrutiny Committees:

Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee (6 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 NIP, 1 Lib Dem)

Labour (Chair)	Cllr John Guy
Labour	Cllr Miqdad Al-Nuaimi
Labour	Cllr Ibrahim Hayat
Labour	Cllr Phil Hourahine
Labour	Cllr Jason Hughes
Labour	Cllr Mark Spencer
Conservative	Cllr Charles Ferris
Conservative	Cllr Matthew Evans
Newport Independents	Cllr Chris Evans
Liberal Democrat	Vacancy

Performance Scrutiny Committee - Partnerships (6 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 NIP, 1 Lib Dem)

Labour (Chair)	Cllr Majid Rahman
Labour	Cllr Deb Davies
Labour	Cllr Steve Marshall
Labour	Cllr James Clarke
Labour	Cllr Rehmaan Hayat
Labour	Cllr Malcolm Linton
Conservative	Cllr Tom Suller
Conservative	Cllr Ray Mogford
Newport Independents	Cllr Jan Cleverly
Liberal Democrat	Vacancy

Performance Scrutiny Committee - People (6 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 NIP, 1 Lib Dem)

Conservative (Chair)	Cllr David Williams
Labour	Cllr Kate Thomas
Labour	Cllr Tracey Holyoake
Labour	Cllr John Guy
Labour	Cllr Herbie Thomas
Labour	Cllr Trevor Watkins
Labour	Cllr Laura Lacey
Conservative	Cllr Joan Watkins
Newport Independents	Cllr Kevin Whitehead
Liberal Democrat	Cllr Carmel Townsend

Performance Scrutiny Committee – Place and Corporate (6 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 NIP, 1 Lib Dem)

Newport Independents (Chair)	Cllr Chris Evans
Labour	Cllr John Richards
Labour	Cllr Yvonne Forsey
Labour	Cllr Ken Critchley
Labour	Cllr Graham Berry (TBC)
Labour	Cllr Miqdad Al-Nuaimi
Labour	Cllr Laura Lacey
Conservative	Cllr Margaret Cornelious
Conservative	Cllr William Routley
Liberal Democrat	Vacancy

Standards Committee:

Cllr Herbie Thomas	Labour appointment
Cllr Phil Hourahine	Labour appointment
Cllr David Fouweather	Conservative appointment

Also: Phil Westwood (Chair), Gerard Hancock, Bernard John, Tracey Britton, Andrew Mitchell, Kerry Watkins.

SACRE: The Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education:

Cllr Gail Giles - Cabinet Member for Education and Skills	Chair
Cllr Laura Lacey	Labour appointment
Cllr Ibrahim Hayat	Labour appointment
Cllr Rehmaan Hayat	Labour appointment
Cllr Joan Watkins	Conservative appointment

Appointments Committee - Strategic Director

Labour	Cllr Debbie Wilcox
Labour	Cllr Gail Giles
Labour	Cllr Laura Lacey
Labour	Cllr Herbie Thomas
Conservative	Cllr Matthew Evans
Newport Independents	Cllr Jan Cleverly
Liberal Democrat	Cllr Carmel Townsend

Corporate Parenting Forum:

Chair (Labour)	Cllr Gail Giles - Cabinet Member for Education and Skills
Labour	Cllr Deb Davies
Labour	Cllr Graham Berry
Labour	Cllr Ibrahim Hayat
Labour	Cllr Steve Marshall
Labour	Cllr Jason Hughes
Labour	Cllr Yvonne Forsey
Labour	Cllr John Guy
Labour	Cllr Chris Jenkins
Conservative	Cllr Joan Watkins
Conservative	Cllr Tom Suller

HR Appeals:

Members to be appointed to be used in rotation:

Cllrs Kate Thomas, James Clarke, Mark Spencer, Ibrahim Hayat, Jane Mudd, Debbie Harvey, Tracey Holyoake, Chris Jenkins, David Williams, Charles Ferris, William Routley and Tom Suller.

Employee Partnership Forum

- Deputy Leader Cllr Mark Whitcutt
- CM for Community and Resources Cllr David Mayer
- CM for Education and Skills Cllr Gail Giles

Champions:

Older Persons Champion: Cllr Trevor Watkins

Disabled and Vulnerable Persons Champion: Cllr Kate Thomas

Carers Champion: Cllr Ibrahim Hayat **Poverty Champion:** Cllr Phil Hourahine

Armed Forces Champion: Cllr Mark Spencer

Homelessness and Supporting People Champion: Cllr Yvonne Forsey (TBC)

Biodiversity Champion: Cllr Roger Jeavons